Monday, February 1, 2010

Album: Big Chief - "Mack Avenue Skullgame"

I'm just going to come out and say it: fuck the Red Hot Chili Peppers, this is funk-rock done correctly.

Big Chief take elements of 70's funk culture and incorporate it beautifully into this album, and not in the "white boys attempting to have soul" kind of way. I mean... they are white boys, but they do have a lot of soul on this album; all the while throwing some jazz elements and a gritty rock n' roll attitude into the mix. They also incorporate a nice level of psychedelia and you get to enjoy some of Mark Dancey's brilliant dog-eat-dog cover art. So comb out your afro and crank up the stereo in your Cadillac... this is "Mack Avenue Skullgame".

1. Skullgame No. 3, Take 3
2. My Name Is Pimp (Mack's Theme)
3. Let's Do It Again
4. One Born Every Minute (Doc's Theme)
5. Sonica
6. No Free Love on This Street (Sonica's Theme)
7. Soul on a Roll
8. 10 Karat Pinky Ring
9. Have Another Glass of Brandy, Baby
10. Gaiety Lounge Punk
11. Cop Kisser (Mack Fucks up the Scene at the Freezer)
12. If I Had a Nickel for Every Dime
13. Mixed Jive
14. He Needs to Be Dead/Ten Easy Pieces (The Power of Ginsu)
15. Cut to the Chase
16. Meet the Man Day
17. O Woman (Mack's Lament)
18. Skullgame (Reprise)

No comments:

Post a Comment